AUM News
News Photo
Women's Tennis - Sat. Apr. 21, 2012
MONTGOMERY, Ala. ----- For the fifth consecutive season, the top-ranked Auburn University at Montgomery women's tennis team captured the Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Championship, as it defeated No. 7 Brenau, 6-1, Saturday at O'Connor Tennis Complex.

With the win, the Warhawks improved to 22-2 on the season and have won seven consecutive matches.

After dropping the opening doubles match at the No. 2 position, AUM rallied for five consecutive wins to secure the crown.

The Warhawks tied the match at 1-1 with an 8-1 victory at the No. 1 doubles position by senior Ana Veselinovic and sophomore Jade Curtis. AUM took the lead for good following an 8-4 victory by senior Kveta Hajkova and junior Morgane Zowczak at the third spot.

In singles, Curtis won at the No. 2 position after Maria Perdomo Medina retired pushing the lead to 3-1. Hajkova rolled to a 6-0, 6-0, win at the No. 5 position, before freshman Tiffany William clinched the match at the No. 3 spot, 6-2, 6-3, over Theresa Neumeyr.

Veselinovic provided the sixth point with a 6-2, 2-6, 1-0 (10-5) win at the top position over Lyn See Choo. The match was played to determine the league's Player of the Year, an honor Veselinovic has now won for two consecutive seasons.

In addition to Veselinovic, several other Warhawks were also named to the all-conference team. Curtis, William, Zowczak, Hajkova and junior Hagar Caro all earned first-team all-conference accolades in singles play, while Veselinovic and Curtis, as well as Zowczak and Hajkova each garnered first-team all-conference honors in doubles.

Head coach Rolando Vargas was also named the conference Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

As a result of the victory, the Warhawks earned the SSAC's automatic berth to the NAIA Women's Tennis Championship Tournament, held May 15-19 in Mobile, Ala. AUM's opponent has yet to be determined.


1. #1 Ana Veselinovic/Jade Curtis (AUMW) def. Lyn See Choo/Hannah Thompson (BU) 8-1

2. Maria Perdomo Medina/Eline Nagels (BU) def. Hagar Caro/Tiffany William (AUMW) 8-1

3. Morgane Zowczak/Kveta Hajkova (AUMW) def. Theresa Neumeyr/Stephanie Moniz (BU) 8-4



1. #1 Ana Veselinovic (AUMW) def. #4 Lyn See Choo (BU) 6-2, 2-6, 1-0 (10-5)

2. #9 Jade Curtis (AUMW) def. Maria Perdomo Medina (BU) 6-2, 2-0, retired

3. #14 Tiffany William (AUMW) def. Theresa Neumeyr (BU) 6-2, 6-3

4. #42 Morgane Zowczak (AUMW) vs. Hannah Thompson (BU) unfinished

5. #20 Kveta Hajkova (AUMW) def. Eline Nagels (BU) 6-0, 6-0

6. Hagar Caro (AUMW) vs. Tiffany de Almeida (BU) unfinished