AUM News
Nicolas Pinones-Haltenhoff won both his singles and doubles match on Thursday.
Men's Tennis - Thu. May. 17, 2012
MOBILE, Ala. ----- The No. 5 Auburn University at Montgomery men's tennis team had its season come to an end on Thursday, as it fell to No. 4 Azusa Pacific in the NAIA Men's Tennis Championship Tournament, 5-4, at the Mobile Tennis Center.

"I am very proud of the growth this team showed all season," head coach Rolando Vargas said. "We were a very young team, but really competed in every match. But give Azusa a lot of credit. They are a very good team. Even though we came up a little short this year, the future is very bright for AUM men's tennis."

AUM picked up just one point in doubles play, as the duo of Nicolas Pinones-Haltenhoff and Zinelabidine Jouini earned a 9-7 win at the No. 2 position.

Bence Toth tied the score at 2-2 with a 6-4, 6-1, victory at the No. 2 singles position, but following a pair of losses at the No. 6 and No. 3 positions, the Warhawks faced a 4-2 match point.

However, Pinones-Haltenhoff pulled off a straight-set, upset victory over No. 4 Janosch Apelt at the No. 1 spot to avoid elimination. Jouini forced the deciding point with a 6-3, 6-2 win at the No. 5 position.

In the deciding match, Marlu Jansen Van Vuuren was unable to overcome a disappointing defeat in the opening set, 7-5, to Benedict Eger, as he fell 7-5, 6-2, at the No. 4 spot.

As a result of the loss, the Warhawks' season came to a close with a 17-8 record. The Saints improved to 21-2 and advanced to take on top-ranked Fresno Pacific Friday at 1 p.m.


1. #5 Janosch Apelt/Jochem Hoefnagels (APUM) def. Bence Toth/Josh Reason (AUMM) 8-3

2. N.Pinones-Haltenhoff/Zinelabidine Jouini (AUMM) def. Frederik Wilkens/Gary Yam (APUM) 9-7

3. Benedict Eger/Ija Ikonnikov (APUM) def. M. Jansen Van Vuuren/Matias Dasso (AUMM) 8-1


1. #7 N.Pinones-Haltenhoff (AUMM) def. #4 Janosch Apelt (APUM) 6-4, 6-3

2. #16 Bence Toth (AUMM) def. #18 Jochem Hoefnagels (APUM) 6-4, 6-1

3. #34 Frederik Wilkens (APUM) def. Josh Reason (AUMM) 6-2, 6-4

4. Benedict Eger (APUM) def. M. Jansen Van Vuuren (AUMM) 7-5, 6-2

5. Zinelabidine Jouini (AUMM) def. Ija Ikonnikov (APUM) 6-3, 6-2

6. Gary Yam (APUM) def. Matias Dasso (AUMM) 6-1, 6-3